Worst. Bagel. Ever.

worst bagel ever

I got sucked into this little place called Bagel and Coffee, it was across the street from my (very Japanese) hair stylist, and I’ve been meaning to check it out. Bagel and Coffee is located on the south side (ie. side facing McKim Way) of Pacific Plaza – on the corner of Cambie and Garden City in Richmond. It’s the giant words Coffee and Bagel that lured me in, because – well, it’s coffee and bagels, why else?

It was a rainy day, almost lunch time, there was one guy sitting outside and I think another customer inside the little shop. The decor is quite pleasant and warm, and it was clean inside.

The woman working there gave a very friendly welcome as I walked in. She speaks Mandarin, although I don’t. Anyway, today’s bagel was whole wheat, she touted (at least twice as I can remember, I think it’s because whole wheat is soooo good for you). So I got one. It was still warm. 

From the looks of it i should have known better. Or at least I should have when I sniffed at it. Of course it smelled like that very characteristic smell of whole wheat, which isn’t the problem, but it smelled so doughy and underbaked that I should have known better than to sink my teeth in it. 

Of course I did. And it was just… ugh. Gross. It wasn’t really underbaked, but it felt like it. The outside was not tough, it wasn’t even bagel like. It was heavy but it wasn’t the right kind of bagel-dense. It was like somebody’s first ever attempt at making bagels and they forgot to boil it or something. I just. Ugh. I’m sorry. I can’t continue on with this post.

 

I didn’t try their coffee. Maybe it’s better. Maybe somebody else would like to try it and tell me what it’s like, because I’m not going back soon.

 

 

Bagel and Coffee

Pacific Plaza- 8888 Odlin Crescent, Richmond

3 Responses

  1. Decent wholewheat bagels are such a rare find! It’s annoying because I do want to opt for the healthier option when I can but a bagel has to rock my socks. When they’re bad, they’re really bad as clearly you noticed.

    I admit I’ve been spoiled by New York wholewheat bagels (my Brother lives there). I live in hope though.

    Love your blog!

    CK

  2. hi there catatonic!

    luckily some places in vancouver like siegel’s have some good whole grain, or at least healthier options. although, i must admit i wish i lived in new york or montreal… sigh. bagel heaven….

    thanks for the visit!

  3. you said it was freshly baked. Bagels require a few hours to get their dense chewy texture! Any baked bread products cannot be eaten directly warm from the oven, they need to be let set for a while.

Leave a Reply

