Not all is lost – Cranberry Filone from Save On Foods

filone

I like bread with dried fruit in it – if not a satisfying breakfast it is always nice as a snack or even dessert on its own. Raisin bread is always good. Aside from the raisin-buns from Asian bakeries (which are essentially little sweet buns made from a dough with considerable sugar and eggs and raisins mixed in), sometimes I get the Apricot Delight from Cobs Breads, or as a last resort, the stuff they bake at supermarkets. I am hesitant to try stuff at supermarket bakeries… Not to mention things like bagels or sourdough, but they don’t even have a decent baguette. They aren’t good and aren’t actually cheaper. Really, a last resort.

I had lost a bit of faith in Save On Food’s bakery ever since my Save Ons bagel incident, but while grocery shopping there and suddenly craving bread with some dried fruit in it, and considering the increased price of their store-baked, presliced raisin bread (which is just OK), I decided I’ll stroll over to the bakery counter and have a look in the drawers.

Near the bottom of the stack (where I assume unpopular breads are kept?), I happened upon this one rather rustic (some might perhaps say not the most appealing looking) loaf of bread that was studded with what I thought looked like raisins. I think officially Save Ons calls this a “Nine Grain Cranberry Filone” (I found it later in their bread index – a giant binder right at the bakery detailing all their breads), but you will just see it labeled as “Filone“. Anyway, it was slightly cheaper than their raisin bread so I thought, what the heck. Might be a better choice.

From what I know, a filone – or “long stick” – is essentially an Italian bread created from a levain, and shaped like a demi-baguette. It is a flavorful and full bread due to a longer fermentation and the incorporation of flours other than plain white flour (eg. whole wheat, rye). Usually, it is a plain bread but this one from Save Ons also has cranberries in it.  I forgot what other ingredients were on the list, but you can clearly see flax seeds, sunflower seeds, golden speckles of what is probably cornmeal, so the bread is very flavorful. It’s not like your plain fruit loaf of raisin bread, which often come with a soft crust, soft sweet (soggy) crumb… This is sweet from the cranberries, but the crumb itself is not sweet nor soggy – it’s nutty and chewy from the seeds, and quite light considering, and with a tough crust that is crisp when toasted.

A well-rounded, tasty loaf of bread. I would (and have) gone back for more.

Leave a Reply

