Wheat Thins My Way

Although my first attempt at crackers yielded quite perfectly edible ones, I was of course not satisfied with my results (as usual). I thought my last batch of Spelt crackers were crunchy, but a tad on the hard side. Seeing that the Spelt crackers consisted only flour, water and salt, I decided to improve on this simple recipe. I haven’t yet created the perfect cracker, but a few minor tweaks yielded a significantly improved one (which landed me a commission from W to make her a giant batch so she can stop buying boxes of Wheat Thins). I used whole wheat this time instead of Spelt, and so they do kinda remind me of Wheat Thins.

ww crackers

The crunch and hardness factor was considerably improved over the Spelt crackers, and overall they tasted better (possibly due to a bit of — oooh — fat). I had thought that by adding baking powder the crackers would be poofed up and thick, this didn’t happen, but I am guessing it did give the crackers that lighter consistency. W thinks they were a bit saltier than required, though I thought they were OK. Kinda look like nachos with this roasted red pepper dip I had:

crackers and dip

Wheat Thins My Way
Makes about 100 triangular crackers

Materials:
180g (about 1.5c) Whole Wheat Flour
90g (about 1/4c) Water
1T butter, or margarine
1t baking powder
1t salt, plus more for sprinkling if desired
2t vegetable or chicken stock powder

Protocol:
1. Mix all ingredients well, and knead for a few minutes. Depending on humidity, you might need a bit more water to hold the dough together. Don’t add too much; the dough should be fairly dry.
2. Divide dough into two pieces and wrap with plastic. Let rest at least 30 minutes.
3. Preheat oven to 375F.
4. Use a rolling pin, roll out into a flat sheet about 1/8″ thick. Put on a piece of parchment. Score with wheel pastry cutter or knife into desired shapes (I did triangles).
5. Sprinkle with salt if desired, and roll over lightly to make it stick.
6. Pierce each cracker several times with fork.
7. Place on baking sheet and bake about 15 minutes or until golden. (Watch carefully!) Cool on a wire rack.

2 Responses

  1. Wow those looked great! I’m definitely going to give the recipe a try. Have you tried making it with different flavours?

  2. Hi Jan! Thanks!

    I have tried Spelt flour, here: https://labofedibles.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/spelt-crackers-whole-grain-all-natural/
    but i’m pretty sure any kind of flour will do (plain white flour might not have much flavor though, so probably would want to spice it up)

    looking forward to seeing some homemade crackers on your blog 😉

Leave a Reply

