Siegel’s Bagels

Siegel’s Bagels

 

I am starting to develop a liking for bagels. Armed with my amateur bagel-palate, I am now determined to find some good bagels in this city. As such, I am on a mission to find some “real” ones from bagels shops like Solly’s, and also some fakes from places like Tim Horton’s. (Though I think the “lowest” I will go are freshly baked ones from Safeway or some supermarket. I don’t know if I can bring myself to buy those pre-packaged ones from Dempsters or Pepperidge Farm… although, if you don’t try something crappy, how would you know what’s great about the good?)

Anyway, at Granville Island on Saturday, I stopped by Siegel’s Bagels, who claim to have “possibly the best bagels in the world“. When you make a claim like that, you are definitely inviting trouble.

Siegel’s Bagels

They boast a lot of pretty nice looking bagels, with all your typical flavors but also some interesting ones like rosemary and rock salt, orange poppy, muesli, and a “power” bagel.

Bagels

This is how I am trying to judge the bagels I eat: I try the plain bagel, which I think is the best and fairest judge of bagelry. I try it as soon as I buy it, without cream cheese or toppings, when it is (hopefully) fresh and still warm. If there is some left (ha!), I try it the day after, at that potentially rock hard stage. OK. So I got a plain one at Siegel’s. It was warm when I ate it. A tough outer skin, but very soft inside. It’s chewy enough, but not being that dense it doesn’t last extremely long in your mouth, nor is it much of a jaw-workout. The flavor was well balanced with a slight sweetness, but I didn’t find it that sweet. The softness was actually very nice and surprising, without being fluffy, but unfortunately it also reminded me a little of bread. It actually didn’t turn as hard as most other bagels do the next day.

Uh, as you can see I have little bagel-eating-etiquette. I actually don’t slice it in half first; I like to tear right into it and keep ripping bits off until it’s gone. 😀

Plain

Overall, Siegel’s make good quality bagels. I liked them, but I don’t think they make “possibly the best bagels in the world.” I definitely think Solly’s bagels are better: chewier and more flavorful, a bit sweeter, and less bready.

Siegel’s Bagels

1698 Johnston’s Street (inside the Public Market), Granville Island, Vancouver

Another location in Kits, 1883 Cornwall Street, Vancouver.

3 Responses

  1. […] I developed a liking for bagels, I have never eaten bagels from here. Now that I have set out on my bagel quest, and found out that this bakery is a bit one of a kind, and getting into a debate with my mom about […]

  2. […] Market. But I still love just soaking in the place. Nothing like coming down here and grabbing a Siegel’s bagel for lunch. Or any other place in the Public Market for that matter. Still, I can’t […]

  3. […] round, with a small little hole in the center. Certainly not “artisan” looking like Siegel’s or Solly’s. And sweet! I mean, literally. Mount Royal’s bagels smell sweet, taste […]

Leave a Reply

