Thai Sweet Chili Salmon

Thai sauce on salmon

Thai Sweet Chili Salmon

Like I said, I eat a lot of salmon. I like the flavor of the fish, I like it simple but I also love experimenting with different flavors in general. It felt like a sweet and savoury, saucy type of salmon night. So I made a sweet chili marinade: I started with some Thai sweet chili sauce, then added the rest of the ingredients as I tasted and went along with it. Add, mix, taste as I go – the way of cooking I like best. I think this one worked out well, and was well recieved. The sauce complimented the sweetness of the fish nicely – it was sweet with a slight hint of spiciness.

Sweet Thai Salmon

Thai sweet chili salmon: After 

Recipe follows…

Thai Sweet Chili Salmon Recipe:

Materials:

1 salmon steak, about 1 inch thick

Salt and pepper

3T Thai sweet red chili sauce

2T Reduced-sodium Tamari

1t Worchestershire sauce

1 clove garlic, freshly grated

Sambal oelek, or sugar, to taste (optional)

1/2T scallion, green parts, sliced diagonally

Protocol:

1. Season both sides of salmon with salt and pepper.

2. Mix the next four ingredients (chili sauce to garlic) together, taste. If you like it spicier, add some chili flakes, or sambal oelek. If you like it sweeter, add sugar.

3. Put sauce onto fish and let marinade in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

4. Cover fish with foil and bake at 375F for 20 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 10 minutes.

5. Garnish with sliced green onions. Sauce and fish go well with brown rice.

Leave a Reply

