Dancing, and an Inauguration Stew

Wii

Was a little busier than usual this weekend, as I had just acquired these three games for my Wii (DDR Hottest Party, Metroid Prime 3, and Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess). All three are awesome, but most of my time was spent dancing on a plastic pad, loudly blaring (and singing along to) Little L… rather shamelessly if I might addIf it wasn’t for this I might have spent more quality time with another acquisition I made while getting the games – a little 2qt Le Creuset Dutch oven. I have wanted a Le Creuset Dutch oven in their Flame color for a long time; these were finally on sale and there were only two left and both were in Flame. So I was quite happy about this purchase.  

 Le Creuset

Le Creuset Dutch Oven

 

Since it was a cold and very rainy day, what would be better than a cozy stew to inaugurate this Dutch oven? Made a simple one from tomatos, celery, mushrooms, onions, cauliflower and pumpkin (One of the Kabochas I had turned out to be a bit dry, so sticking it in a stew was perfect). I guess you could call it a a ratatouillebut I prefer the more endearing term of just plain veggie stew. A filling and satisfying meal after all that dancing too.

veggie stew

Inauguration Ratatouille/Veggie Stew

 

Addendum 10-2-07: Recipe!

Materials

1 onion (large squarish pieces)/ 2 sticks celery (large squares)/ several cloves of garlic (chopped)

2 large tomatos (large chunks and seeded)/ 2 cups cauliflower (florets and stalk)

2 cups cooked pumpkin (large cubes)/ 1 cup white mushrooms (whole, if not too big)

1 cup chicken broth/ 1 cup water/ 2 tsp Hungarian paprika/ black pepper 

1 cup cilantro, very roughly chopped/ 2 scallions, cut into 1 inch pieces

 

Protocol

1. In a (beautiful, orange) Dutch oven, sautee onion and garlic in a little oil until slightly tender, but do not brown.

2. Add celery, water, and chicken broth. Cook on medium/high heat until the veggies are tender. (You could definitely add carrots here to complete what is known as mirepoix or French trinity here. I didn’t because I figured there is enough beta-carotene in my stew.)

3. Add cauliflower, mushrooms, pumpkin, and tomatos (you can also wait a little longer before adding the tomatos.) If it is too dry add a bit more water or broth, but not too much that it is soupy.

4. Add paprika and many generous grindings of black pepper. Stir a little, cover, and let simmer at medium/low heat, until the liquid is quite reduced. About 45 minutes to 1 hour.

5. Stir in cilantro and scallions. Remove from heat.

6. Serve in the Dutch oven. Goes well with some brown rice, or bread.

 

A few notes:

– Cut your veggies so they are large pieces of similar size. However, I like my pumpkin, cauliflower florets and tomatos to be larger as they break down easily.

– Seed those tomatos, else stew will taste too acid and it won’t be pretty.

– I use cauliflower stalks not because I don’t want to waste things, but because they will soften a bit and are tasty after, also gives the stew a little body.

– I wasn’t going for a richly herby stew here; it was delicious as is. The paprika adds a nice color and a very mild heat. You can add other herbs and spices to your liking: eg. chilli, cumin, oregano, thyme.

– If this lasts at all (which it didn’t), it is great to freeze some for another rainy day.

3 Responses

  1. We demand the recipe cause that looks delicious! (Or does it really not matter? Just throw stuff in kind of stew?)

  2. Recipe up, as requested! (Pretty simple though, can freestyle it, really. ^__^)

  3. […] camp of Le Crueset colors.) All of the Le Crueset stuff here I have seen is made in France. The dutch oven I have at home is made in France. I have, however, gone to many stores and found Le Crueset stuff made in Thailand. […]

Leave a Reply

