Oral Allergy Syndrome and Honeydew

I used to have a thing against melons, I really did. I hated melons of all sorts – watermelons, cantaloupes and honeydews were my 3 most-hated fruits. I found them to be rather flavorless, and I hated the sandy texture of watermelon aboveall. I went so far as to declare myself deathly allergic to melons so that I didn’t have to eat them. When I decided that my palate had to become less picky in order to become more picky (if you get that), I decided to try all kinds of fruits and vegetables, and discovered that I didn’t hate melons so much, afterall. 

Because my mother gets a serious itch in her throat every time she eats honeydew, I have never really had too much of this fruit, even after my new-found fondness for melons. Strangely (and luckily) this doesn’t happen with watermelons or cantaloupes. This kind of reaction is known as Oral Allergy Syndrome, or pollen-food allergy, where your immune system mistakes a certain food protein as pollen proteins, so that after you eat a certain food- typically raw fruit or vegetable – you get a burning sensation in your mouth and/or throat. OAS thus happens a lot in people who have hay fever, or some kind of pollen allergy. Melons are associated with sensitivity to ragweed or grass. (While some other veggies like carrots and celery are associated with mugwort allergy). Typically, these reactions are worse during pollen season.

Honeydew

 It’s hard to just buy a whole melon because I can’t finish it quickly enough. And I don’t buy pre-chopped fruit. Found this little half honeydew though, the other day, and it looked pretty fresh. Plus I have just been really wanting some honeydew. It was green, sweet, and delicious.

And not itchy. :-)

One Response

  1. If you ever want to read a reader’s feedback :) , I rate this post for 4/5. Detailed info, but I just have to go to that damn google to find the missed bits. Thank you, anyway!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

